Wieckowski to recognize young API leaders in 4th-Annual API American Heritage Ceremony

Posted on 07 May 2014 for representative Bob Wieckowski

San Jose – Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski’s (D-Fremont) 4th-Annual Asian-Pacific Islander American Heritage Leadership Awards Ceremony will focus on young API leaders who are making a difference in the areas of business, public service, science and the medical field. This year’s ceremony will take place at 2 p.m., Friday, May 9 at the Berryessa Community Center, 3050 Berryessa Road in San Jose. “The theme is ‘Building the Pipeline’ because this year the spotlight is on a new generation of Asian leaders who are immersing themselves in a range of issues and making a contribution in the 25th Assembly District and beyond,” Wieckowski said. “It’s another example of the district’s diversity and the commitment these individuals have to improve our region.” This year’s honorees are: · Angelica Ramos, founder of the National Women’s Political Caucus of Silicon Valley · Neal Bharadwaj, founder of the nonprofit “Matters of Community” · Milan Kantaria and Ravi Makadia, co-founders of Critosphere · Lorna Sumaraga, Tobacco Prevention & Education Program, Santa Clara County · Hon. Wendy L. Ho, board-member San Jose-Evergreen Community College District · Beverly Cho Chang, MD in psychiatry · Clifford Chen, PhD, consultant at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory · Sameena Usman, government relations consultant for the Council on American-Islamic Relations · Ajaipal “AJ” Chahal, youth commissioner, member of Sister Cities Santa Clara, student advocate for the Northside Library The ceremony is free and open to the public, however, a limited number of RSVPs will be accepted. To attend the event, please call Assemblymember Wieckowski’s district office at 510-440-9030. The 25th Assembly District includes Fremont, Newark, Milpitas, San Jose and Santa Clara.